Passport Myths

5 Sep

Myth – My cruise to Bermuda is closed-circuit so all the cruise line requires me to have is a birth certificate and a photo ID so I’m cool. FALSE!

  • You’re cool as long as nothing goes wrong. I hate to burst your bubble, but you are not in control of the world. Stuff goes wrong at the most inopportune time. If you want to test Murphy’s Law, go ahead, but don’t say I didn’t tell you so. What will you do if you get stung by a Portuguese Man-Of-War? Stagger out of the Swizzle Inn and get a concussion?  Or make a noob move on your scooter and crash? How will you get home when they release you from the hospital?

Myth – It’s not worth the money. FALSE!

  • If you miss the ship for one of the dozens of unforeseen reasons – you’re stuck there until you get one. Even if you could get one that same day, chances are you’re going to have to spend at least one night until you can arrange for a flight to the next port. How much do you think your hotel and food expenses will be during this time?

Myth – But I don’t need one because I’ll always be within 20 minutes from the ship. FALSE!

  • What if your mother suddenly gets sick and might die? It happened to me while I was in Bermuda and she died 12 hours after I got back. What if time is of the essence and you don’t have a passport? Sure it seems unlikely that this would ever happen, but I thought so, too. I am an expert traveler. I’ve been traveling internationally since I was 7 years old. I’ve been on hundreds of trips and never once has an emergency happened, but when it does you’ll be sorry you weren’t prepared.

Myth – I’ll get one, but I will leave it on the ship so it will be safe. FALSE!

  • A passport is of no use unless you have it with you. A photocopy will not suffice as a sufficient substitute. Keep your passport on your person at all times and keep it hidden under your clothes. A purse or pocket is not a safe place. U.S. passports are worth a fortune on the black market. Trust me the thieves got the memo and they are everywhere!

Myth – It’s fine if carry my passport in my purse (pocket, backpack, etc.) because I’m quick like a ninja and no one will pickpocket me. FALSE!

  • I actually am a ninja and I don’t do careless things with my passport and neither should you. I conceal my passport under my clothing. As mentioned above, passports are valuable and pickpockets know this. Don’t fool yourself into thinking no one can outsmart you.
Leave a Reply

